

PANEL DYFARNU CYMRU ADJUDICATION PANEL FOR WALES

NOTICE OF DECISION

TRIBUNAL REFERENCE NUMBER: APW/007/2023-24/CT

RESPONDENT: Former Councillor Jeff Davies

RELEVANT AUTHORITY: New Quay Town Council

1. A Case Tribunal convened by the President of the Adjudication Panel for Wales ('APW') has considered a reference in respect of the above Respondent.

2. By letter dated 27 March 2024, the APW received a referral from the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales ('the PSOW') in relation to an allegation made against the Respondent.

3. The Case Tribunal determined its adjudication on the papers during a meeting on 3 July 2024, conducted by means of remote attendance technology.

4. The allegation was that the Respondent had breached Paragraph 6(1)(a) of the Code of Conduct for Members.

5. Paragraph 6(1)(a) of the Relevant Authority's Code of Conduct states; 'you must not conduct yourself in a manner which could reasonably be regarded as bringing your office or authority into disrepute.'

6. The Case Tribunal found by unanimous decision that the Respondent had failed to comply with Paragraph 6(1)(a) of the Code of Conduct as he had sent messages of a sexually explicit nature to an individual which amounted to the offence of harassment, and which resulted in a conditional caution being issued by the Police. The Case

Tribunal considered that this conduct could reasonably be regarded as bringing the Respondent's office or authority into disrepute.

7. The Case Tribunal decided by unanimous decision that the Respondent should be disqualified for **12 months** from being or becoming a member of the Relevant Authority, or any other relevant authority within the meaning of the Local Government Act 2000, with effect from the date of this notice.

8. The Relevant Authority and its Standards Committee are notified accordingly.

9. The Respondent has the right to seek the leave of the High Court to appeal the above decision.

10. The Reasoned Decision Report will be published on the APW website in due course.

..... Date 3 July 2024 Signed.....

Chairperson of the Case Tribunal: Ms C Jones

Case Tribunal Member: Ms M Tudur

Case Tribunal Member: Mr H E Jones